John Daly will not be playing in Australia, ever. At least that’s what the organzier is hinting.
Big John ran out of balls after hitting a huge number of balls into the water. According to playing partner, Hunter Mahan, after couple of balls went into the water, Daly wasn’t really trying to make the shot. And it was said Daly was to hit the 16th stroke when he shoke the hands of the playing partners and walk-off the course. He did made a brief interview in the parking lot, calmly, saying, ‘I ran out of balls, what else can I do?’
Official statment said that the officials would have arrange for fresh supply of balls to let him finish the round… Wasn’t DQ the automatic ruling if a player ran out of balls, rules guru please confirm.
Come now, he was at +X before this hole [he hit a practice ball from the bunker thinking it was his ball, where are the fore-caddies?!, and made a triple bogey with penalty the hole prior]. What’s wrong of letting him quit, it is not like he was the attraction of the event??? Give the big guy a break, wouldn’t you?